Eagle Scouts Honored at Annual Banquet

posted Mar 22, 2018, 8:52 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Mar 22, 2018, 8:53 AM ]
Class of 2017 Eagle Banquet
The Great Trail Council, Boy Scouts of America honored its 2017 Class of Eagle Scouts at a banquet held at the Hilton Akron/Fairlawn in Akron, Ohio on Sunday, March 11th.

The Great Trail Council includes eight districts – Arrowhead, Chippewa, Lakes, Moecomdws, Old Portage, Seneca, Tri-Fires and Whispering Pines – serving Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Summit, Trumbull and Northern Wayne counties of Northeast Ohio.

Last year, 251 Scouts in the council’s five and a half county area earned the Eagle Scout rank, the highest achievement in the national Scouting organization. Nationwide, a total of 55,494 young men became Eagle Scouts in 2017.

Annually, the Great Trail Council honors this achievement at a special event where Scouts are met at the ceremony by Eagle Sponsors comprising of prominent members of the community and distinguished Scouting volunteers. This year marks the 58th anniversary of the event.

Notable sponsors were recognized by the event’s Committee Chair, Howard Taylor, and included Representative Stephen D. Hambley for District 69, Judge Jill Flagg Lanzinger, Judge Jon A. Oldham, Representative Marilyn Slaby for District 38, Current Council President Tim McNutt and Past Council Presidents Tom Geopfert and Jim Nilsen.

The Class of 2017 sponsor and keynote speaker, Matthew Wilson, Eagle Scout and 17th President of The University of Akron, offered words of wisdom to the Eagle Scouts.

“It's been said that life does not determine winners, winners determine life,” Wilson said. “Each one of you in this room, are winners.”

During a Court of Honor at the event, President Wilson was awarded the National Eagle Scout Association’s prestigious Outstanding Eagle Scout Award. Established during the BSA’s 100th Anniversary in 2010, recipients of the award have often inspired others through their actions and devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

Master of Ceremonies, Jacob Spinner, Eagle Scout Class of 2016 was presented with a membership into the National Eagle Scout Association by Rev. David Weyrick and Great Trail Council’s Scout Executive, Patrick Scherer.

The event concluded with the reaffirmation of the Eagle Scout Pledge. Only four percent of all Scouts achieve the rank of Eagle. Since the program’s inception in 1911, approximately 2.5 million people nationally have become Eagle Scouts.